Know the most successful football nations

The fifa world cup is the most prestigious competition in the world Soccerwith the best national teams from around the world competing for the honor every four years.

Initially, only men’s teams competed in the quadrennial showpiece. The FIFA Women’s World Cup was established in 1991.

Since the inaugural competition in 1930, then called the Jules Rimet Trophy, the FIFA Men’s World Cup has produced eight different champions in 21 editions.

Brazil, Germany, Italy, Argentina, France, Uruguay, England and Spain won the FIFA World Cup trophy.

Uruguay won the first World Cup held in 1930, beating Argentina 4-2 in the final.

Photo by Getty Images

That of men brazil national football team to the most FIFA World Cup wins.

Brazil have broken the World Cup record five times – 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002. They are also the only team to have participated in all 21 editions.

Nicknamed ‘The Selecao‘, Brazil are also the most successful men’s team at the World Cup in terms of matches played (109), matches won (73) and goals scored (229).

When Brazil first won the title in 1958, the legendary striker Pele came to the fore. He scored six goals in this edition, including two in the final against Sweden.

During his illustrious career, Pelé won three FIFA World Cups – 1958, 1962 and 1970 – and remains the only player to achieve this feat to date.

Brazilian legend Pelé is the only player to have won the FIFA World Cup three times.

Photo by Getty Images

Behind Brazil in the list of greatest FIFA World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, winning the trophy four times each.

While Germany won it in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014, Italy were champions in 1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006.

Germany’s run to the World Cup can be divided into three periods, pre-WWII Germany, West Germany and present-day reunified Germany. However, all three are considered as one nation in the record books.

The European giants have also finished in the top three a record 12 times, including four runners-up.

Former German striker Miroslav Klose holds the record for most goals scored at the FIFA World Cup, scoring 16 goals in four editions.

German players celebrate their first World Cup triumph in 1954.

Photo from 1954 Getty Images

Italy, meanwhile, won the World Cup on their debut in 1934 and successfully defended it in 1938, becoming the first team to win back-to-back titles.

Despite being one of the most successful teams, Italy failed to qualify for the FIFA World Cups in 2018 and 2022.

Other nations to have won the FIFA World Cup more than once are Argentina, France and Uruguay, each lifting the coveted trophy twice.

While Argentina triumphed in 1978 and 1986, Uruguay claimed victory in 1930 and 1950. Defending champions France won in 1998 and 2018.

The Netherlands have reached the final three times – 1974, 1978 and 2010 – but have yet to add their name to the list of World Cup winners.

Only teams from Europe and South America have won the FIFA Men’s World Cup.

In the FIFA Women’s World Cup, the United States are the most successful nation, winning the title four times in eight editions and never finishing outside the top three.

The United States women’s soccer team has won the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019. They have also scored the most goals (138) in the global competition.

Most FIFA World Cup wins

Men’s World Cup
Country Securities Year
Brazil 5 1958, 1962 1970, 1994, 2002
Germany 4 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Italy 4 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Argentina 2 1978, 1986
France 2 1998, 2018
Uruguay 2 1930, 1950
England 1 1966
Spain 1 2010
Women’s World Cup
Country Securities Year
UNITED STATES 4 1991, 1999, 2015, 2019
Germany 2 2003, 2007
Norway 1 1995
Japan 1 2011
Previous "Everything you can imagine is real," says Ananya Panday of her vacation in Italy
Next The week in 5 graphs | Queen Elizabeth II dies, debt traps via instant loan apps and more